Don’t Become the Residue. . .

res·i·due/ˈrezəˌd(y)o͞o/A small amount of something that remains after the main part has gone or been taken or used.

You ever take a bath, and after you get out of the tub, there is this residue like a ring all around the tub? You ever eat a great meal, and then you get heart burn? Wash your hands, only to still have remnants left of what you tried so hard to wash away?

Such is life. This morning, I had prayer time with one of my best sister friends and her words this morning really struck me. Here is what she said:  “God, I ask you to remove from us the residue, the after burn, the remnant of any hurt, pain, or wrong that has been done to us. . .” I was like WAIT, STOP, PUT A PIN IN THAT. Or in my well known Sophia Twitter Speak: #BOOM!!!!!!!!

Now, of course, I did not say that as my sister was praying so eloquently, but I felt that in my heart, because like her, like us all I have been dealing with some serious relationship drama. Some of it is just normal stuff, but some of it is a DISTRACTION sent to keep me from what God has purposed in my life.  The same is true for all of you. Whenever major attacks, damaged relationships, people that walk out on you for silliness, unforgiveness, rage, anger, bitterness, and quarrels occur, no matter how we resolve (or not resolve) them, we are always LEFT with a RESIDUE.

Don’t Miss this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

One of my favorite verses of scripture is out of Jeremiah 31:3: God says, “I have loved you with an everlasting love. I have drawn you with loving kindness.” Think about that for a moment. Whatever your religious background. God is love. And love is the foundation of our lives. Period.  Whenever we are not acting in love or being treated with love, we feel it acutely. It violates our very nature to be in conflict. God’s love is ever present, never changing. I so wish we could learn this great lesson from Him.

My point is this: No matter what you are facing right now. Or what happened to you last week, last month, last year or in your past–Do NOT allow that person, place or thing to become a RESIDUE in your life.  A ring of what is left around the edges. Do not allow yourself to become broken by some one else’s brokenness. Hear me on this because I have done it to people who deserved better and it has been done to me. Every time I pushed love away, or friendship away, or goodness away it wasn’t because I did not want it, but it is because I could not receive it. STOP. PAUSE. REFLECT. So to with those who curse you, use you, take from you, and then callously discard you.  They are broken vessels and they cannot receive your goodness.

Pray for them. Let them go and don’t let the residue of their brokenness leave a ring on your heart, your mind, or your soul.

Peace.

xo

Sophia A. Nelson

Leave a Reply

