(NEW AUDIO & POST) Want to be in CONTROL of Life? Then Exercise the Power of “Self-Control”! Six Secrets of Self-Control Revealed in AUDIO 559-726-1299 code 874081

sharron-postcards-fruit-of-the-spirit-self-control

 

“It is better to conquer yourself than to win a thousand battles.”-Buddha

We live in a control freak society. PERIOD. Control, control, control and more control is all we seek. We want to control our time, our relationships, our destiny, our worship, our friendships, our marriages, and our work routines.  But here is the truth: We are all out of control. 

Today, I want us to look at the POWER that rests in being self-controlled. I know this is big because like all of you I wrestle with it daily. But I have found that when I focus on me and what I am doing, who I am being, and how I am living that my life runs a lot better than when I try to control other people around me.  The most important battle that we will ever fight is the one with ourselves. To conquer self is the most critical thing we can ever do.  For it is in conquering ourselves that we find ourselves.  I am here to tell you that CONTROL is over rated! I am at a place in my life where I see the untold damage of people who think they are in control being truly out of control because they say, do and treat people any old way.  They have no control. They have not self-check. They believe the world revolves around them–and it does not. These people are breaking their marriages, their kids, their friendships, their business relationships, and even their places of worship because they have no ability to deal with SELF.

From a spiritual standpoint as Beth Moore points out in the above quotation, SELF CONTROL Is one of the Fruit of the Spirit found in Galatians 5:22.  It is a critical fruit because like wisdom it saves us from danger. It saves us from trouble (sin). It saves us from our tongues waging war on others. It saves us from opening the door to all kinds of problems in our lives. Self-control is a virtue we would all do well to put into practice the other day.  I have really grown up in this area.  And for the first 31 days of this year I have truly been tested in this area A LOT! But I am proud to say I have passed the test and I am learning to control myself, my emotions, my reactions, my passion.

In today’s AUDIO inspiration (559-726-1299 code 874081) I share six secrets to living a life of self-control shared via Forbes Magazine I give you 6 steps you can take everyday that are pretty basic to help you be in better control of YOU. Notice I did not say be in control of others. I said control you. Stop trying to control everyone and everything around you. It only repels people from you. It does NOT draw people closer. You have to focus on you. That is the only thing in this world you can actually control friends.

Today is day #17 of the restore fast we are 4 days away from completion. I am proud of you. These 21 days PROVE that you can in fact control your urges, impulses, and flesh. If you can do that successfully in other areas of your life WATCH and see what doors will open for you in 2013.

Keep going! Self-control is kinda sexy! 

Sophia

Leave a Reply

